Environmental Management & Engineering


Click on the link below for a helpful list of ideas, topics, etc. to follow in order to be compliant with the MS4 permit requirements:


What is Stormwater?
Stormwater discharge are generated by runoff from land and impervious areas such as paved streets, parking lots, and building rooftops during rainfall and snow events that often contain pollutants in quantities that could adversely affect water quality.
Stormwater runoff carries a high amount of sediment and surface pollutants such as:
Petroleum products from automobiles and trash
Phosphorus and nitrogen from pet wastes, over fertilization of lawns, and soaps
Stormwater is washed down storm drains or natural drainage patterns and not treated before it empties into streams, rivers, and lakes.
Most stormwater discharges are considered point sources of pollution and require coverage by a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit. The primary method to control stormwater discharges is through the use of best management practices (BMPs)
Phase II Requirements
The EPA Stormwater Phase II rules requires operators of municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s) to develop a stormwater management plan. Operators of regulated MS4s are required to implement programs that reduce the discharge of pollutants and protect water quality. This must be achieved through the development and implementation of six minimum control measures.
EPA's Six Minimum Control Measures
Public Education and Outreach
Public Participation and Involvement
Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
Construction Site Runoff Control
Post-Construction Site Runoff Control
Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping
Helpful links:
Environmental Protection Agency
NYS Department of Environmental Conservation
Stormwater Consortium of Rockland County:
Participating MS4s
Town of Clarkstown
Town of Haverstraw
Town of Orangetown
Town of Ramapo
Town of Stony Point
Village of Chestnut Ridge
Village of Haverstraw
Village of Montebello
Village of New Square
Village of Nyack
Village of Piermont
Village of Pomona
Village of South Nyack
Village of Spring Valley
Village of Suffern
Village of Upper Nyack
Village of Wesley Hills
Village of West Haverstraw